Category Archives: Soul Kitchen

Soul Kitchen 04 – The ‘One Note Samba’ Mix

‘One Note Samba’ was originally written and performed by Antonio Carlos Jobin in 1963 on his classic Bossa Nova album ‘Jazz Samba’. Fast-forward three years and, in an effort to step-up record sales, Sergio Mendes hired a new singer (Lani Hall), switched record labels and released ‘Sergio Mendes And Brasil ’66’, which contained the cover version of ‘One Note Samba’ included in this mix. With the support of his friend and mentor, Herb Alpert, the album was a huge success and sold over one million copies.

The song has been covered numerous times since Sergio Mendes’ “little samba built upon a single note” and is a favourite late-night tune amongst DJs who know that “other notes are sure to follow but the root is still that single note”.

This month’s tracklisting:

To Beat The Devil (Intro)
01. Wake Up Everybody ^ Big Youth
02. Sudden Impact (12″ Mix) ^ BAD
03. Angel (Extended Dance Mix) ^ Madonna
04. One Note Samba / Spanish Flea ^ Sergio Mendes & Brasil ’66
05. What’d I Say ^ Elvis Presley
06. (Your Love Is Lifting Me) Higher & Higher ^ Jackie Wilson
Everything Is Everything (Interlude) ^ Bootsy Collins
07. College ^ 3 Titans
08. Memory Lane (Sittin’ In Da Park) ^ Nas
09. They Don’t Want ^ Electric Wire Hustle
10. Shine ^ Adrian Younge
11. El Nicoya ^ Santana
12. El Cayuco ^ Tito Puente
13. Sideman ^ The George Benson Quartet
14. Mercedes Benz ^ Janis Joplin
15. In The Dark ^ Billy Squire
16. Carry On Turn Me On (Original 12″ Mix) ^ Space
17. So Free (Original Mix) ^ The Timewriter ft Jay
18. Consolation Prize ^ Julie Doiron
19. Holiday ^ Vampire Weekend
20. Best Of All Possible Worlds ^ Kris Kristofferson
Laughter (Exilude)
21. Come On, Get Happy ^ The Partridge Family

Podomatic RSS Feed: Click here
Mixcloud Cloud Cast: Click here

Soul Kitchen 03 – The ‘E=MC2’ Mix

The third installment of Soul Kitchen is here and features the best new tunes in my ever-expanding musical collection. This month’s mix features one of my personal favourites from the 80s – ‘E = MC2’ by Big Audio Dynamite.

After Mick Jones left the Clash he formed BAD as a vehicle for his varied musical interests including, Punk Rock, Dance music, Hip-Hop, Reggae and Funk. Their first album, ‘This Is Big Audio Dynamite’, featured the single ‘E=MC2’, which is regarded as one of the first songs to make use of the emerging sampling technologies. The song contains snippets of dialogue from several of Nicolas Roeg’s 1970s films such as, ‘Performance’ (starring Mick Jagger) and ‘The Man Who Fell To Earth’ (starring David Bowie).

This month’s track listing is:

01 * A Fool In Love (Edit) = Ike & Tina Turner
02 * You’ll Never Find (Dub Version) = Dub Pistols ft Rodney P
03 * I Don’t Know (Fusion Region Mix By Mitsu) = Steppah Huntah
04 * Hot ‘n’ Nasty = Eulorhythmics ft Proh Mic
05 * Liner Notes = Tom Caruana
06 * Brotherhood (Marc Marc Dirty Jazz Remix) = Sleepwalker
07 * Ballade De Melody Nelson = Serge Gainsbourg
08 * Eat That Up It’s Good For You = Two Door Cinema Club
09 * Bizzare Love Triangle (Album Version) = New Order
10 * E = MC2 (12″ Remix) = BAD
11 * Brave New World (Original Mix) = Grant Nelson
12 * Learning A Language = Tom Caruana
13 * I Want Candy = The Strangeloves
14 * Devil In Disguise = Lightspeed Champion
15 * What’s Going On = Ohio Players
16 * I Can’t Wait Until I See My Baby = Justine Washington

Podomatic RSS Feed: Click Here
Mixcloud CloudCast: Click Here

Soul Kitchen 02 – The ‘Genius Of Love’ Mix

Soul Kitchen is back and the sophomore mix gives a nod to the New Wave band Tom Tom Club, founded by Chris Frantz and Tina Weymouth. The husband/wife pair were better known as fifty percent of Talking Heads but on their second Tom Tom single, ‘Genius Of Love’, they were one-hundred percent purveyors of club-friendly, mutated Funk.

This month’s track listing is:

0_1 I’ll Fly Away } Ballistic Brothers
0_2 Sipping On The Sweet Nectar } Jens Lekman
0_3 A Man’s Best Friend Is A Bed } Louis Jordan & His Tympany Five
0_4 Beautiful Here (Flevans Remix) } Lack Of Afro
0_5 Bizarre Love Triangle } Dear Switcher Disco
0_6 How Do You See Me Now? } Extortion
0_7 Just Dropped In (To See What Condition My Condition Was In) } Kenny Rogers
0_8 All Aboard } Muddy Waters
0_9 Genius Of Love (Instrumental Edit) } Tom Tom Club
1_0 What It Feels Like For A Girl (Stephane Pompougnac Remix) } Madonna
1_1 Rule } Nas
1_2 Turn Around (Original 12″ Mix) } Phats & Small
1_3 The Imperial Probe } London Symphony Orchestra
1_4 Walk On The Wild Side } Tok Tok Tok

Mixcloud Cloud Cast – click here

Soul Kitchen 01 – The ‘I Can’t Go For That’ Mix

I began podcasting over four years ago in March, 2006, when I compiled and mixed a little diddy called ‘Digital Kicks’ on a flight from Madrid to Dublin.  The premise was simple – choose the best new songs from my collection this month, sequence them and make them available to listen to or download for all of my friends.  Little did I know then, how fun it was going to be to provide a monthly dose of new music.  I quickly became addicted to compiling, sequencing, editing, mixing and posting all my current favourite tunes.  Digital Kicks lasted for 50 episodes, until last month when I decided to retire the podcast.  I could have kept going, but I felt it was better to stop at 50 and try something new.  The question was –  what to do next?

I spent several months contemplating this and finally realised that there was no need to change something that wasn’t broken.  All I needed to do was come up with a new concept, but maintain the basics – good, quality music collected to reflect my current listening preferences.  So, I am starting all over this month with a brand new podcast, which I am calling Soul Kitchen.

This month’s inaugural track listing is:

01: Let’s Take Off (Far Away) :: Dam Funk
02: I Can’t Go For That (No Can Do) (Extended Dance Remix) :: Hall & Oates
03: Let’s Get Together :: Jimmy Reed
04: Chicken Reel (Original Mono Version) :: Les Paul & Mary Ford
05: Memphis :: Lonnie Mack
06: King Of The Rodeo :: The Bamboos ft Mega Washington
07: Bongo Break :: DJ Design
08: Os Grilos :: Walter Wanderly
09: Ballade De Melody Nelson (Howie B Remix) :: Serge Gainsbourg & Jane Birkin
10: Billie Jean :: Syler
11: Locomotion :: Les Sophia Lorenians
12: Super Mario Bros (Remix By D Marin) – Nintendo
13: Photobooth :: Friendly Fires
14: Everybody Wants To Rule The World (12″ Version) :: Tears For Fears
15: Cars (Demo Version) :: Gary Numan
16: La La (Means I Love You) :: Jackson 5

Mixcloud Cloud Cast – Click Here

You can also go to my Soul Kitchen podcast page to listen to the mix or download it. The collecting of music will continue for many months to come, as will the endless hours of listening and creating new podcasts.  I hope you enjoy the new Soul Kitchen collection and look forward to a new episode each month.  Thanks for listening and supporting my passion.

Keep your feet tapping on the ground and your hands reaching for the stars.

Kub xxx