Monthly Archives: March 2011

Soul Kitchen 09

This month’s mix is a nod to the cassette counter-culture with two mixes for two sides.

Side A is a rather chilled out affair, and brings Black Sabbath together with Dusty Springfield, and Common.

Side B picks things up, and moves into Disco and House territory with some great remixes and re-edits from years gone by.

Enjoy the virtual mixtape, which is dedicated to my brother for two reasons. First, he is celebrating his birthday this month, and second, he had more cassettes then I did when we were kids. That is until I got a job, and started spending all my money on music…

Soul Kitchen 09.A – The ‘Just A Melody’ Side
01 = Planet Caravan – Black Sabbath
02 = Everybody Knows This Is Nowhere – Neil Young
03 = When The Levee Breaks – Memphis Minnie
04 = Bluebird – Paul McCartney & Wings
05 = Spanish Flea – Herb Alpert & The Tijuana Brass
06 = Can I Get A Witness – Dusty Springfield
07 = Just A Melody – Young Holt Unlimited
08 = Something Extra (Album Version) – Black Heat
09 = Be (Intro) – Common
10 = I Shot The Sheriff – Bob Marley
11 = I Could Have Lied – Red Hot Chili Peppers
12 = Sentimental X’s – Broken Social Scene
13 = Troubled Mind – Everything But The Girl
14 = Cute – Cloud

Podomatic RSS Feed (Side A):  Click Here
Mixcloud Cloud Cast (Side A):  Click Here

Soul Kitchen 09.B – The ‘Can’t Get There From Here’ Side
01 = Somewhere Between Heaven And Tesco’s – Department S
02 = Can’t Get There From Here – REM
03 = Bad Connection – Yaz
04 = The Key – Mock & Toof
05 = They Say – Common
06 = Musiq (A Tom Moulton Mix) – Cool Million ft Jarah
07 = Wounded Valentine (Nightriders Late Night Seduction Dub) – Soft   Complex
08 = Keep On (Dub Version) – Kaskade
09 = Let Me Down Easy (Danny Krivit Re-Edit) – Rare Pleasure
10 = Missing (Todd Terry Remix) – Everything But The Girl
11 = Song For Shelter (Edit) – Fatboy Slim

Podomatic RSS Feed (Side B):  Click Here
Mixcloud Cloud Cast (Side B):  Click Here

Love & Xs…

Thank Funk It’s Friday – 2011.03.04

Next Tuesday is the culmination of Mardi Gras with Fat Tuesday, so this week’s mix celebrates the festivities by funkin’ things up with five tracks from New Orleans-grown talent.

Unlike the song says, you are in the right place at the right time.

Party on, and be excellent to each other!

01. Here Come The Girls {} Ernie K. Doe
02. Right Place, Wrong Time {} Dr. John
03. Gator Bait {} The Gaturs
04. 9 Till 5 {} The Meters
05. Get Out Of My Life Woman {} Lee Dorsey