Monthly Archives: September 2010

Soul Kitchen 03 – The ‘E=MC2’ Mix

The third installment of Soul Kitchen is here and features the best new tunes in my ever-expanding musical collection. This month’s mix features one of my personal favourites from the 80s – ‘E = MC2’ by Big Audio Dynamite.

After Mick Jones left the Clash he formed BAD as a vehicle for his varied musical interests including, Punk Rock, Dance music, Hip-Hop, Reggae and Funk. Their first album, ‘This Is Big Audio Dynamite’, featured the single ‘E=MC2’, which is regarded as one of the first songs to make use of the emerging sampling technologies. The song contains snippets of dialogue from several of Nicolas Roeg’s 1970s films such as, ‘Performance’ (starring Mick Jagger) and ‘The Man Who Fell To Earth’ (starring David Bowie).

This month’s track listing is:

01 * A Fool In Love (Edit) = Ike & Tina Turner
02 * You’ll Never Find (Dub Version) = Dub Pistols ft Rodney P
03 * I Don’t Know (Fusion Region Mix By Mitsu) = Steppah Huntah
04 * Hot ‘n’ Nasty = Eulorhythmics ft Proh Mic
05 * Liner Notes = Tom Caruana
06 * Brotherhood (Marc Marc Dirty Jazz Remix) = Sleepwalker
07 * Ballade De Melody Nelson = Serge Gainsbourg
08 * Eat That Up It’s Good For You = Two Door Cinema Club
09 * Bizzare Love Triangle (Album Version) = New Order
10 * E = MC2 (12″ Remix) = BAD
11 * Brave New World (Original Mix) = Grant Nelson
12 * Learning A Language = Tom Caruana
13 * I Want Candy = The Strangeloves
14 * Devil In Disguise = Lightspeed Champion
15 * What’s Going On = Ohio Players
16 * I Can’t Wait Until I See My Baby = Justine Washington

Podomatic RSS Feed: Click Here
Mixcloud CloudCast: Click Here

Thank Funk It’s Friday – 2010.09.10

Ba de ya de ya de ya – Thank Funk It’s Earth Wind & Fire Day!

Earth Wind & Fire released ‘September’ at the end of 1978 and it became one of their biggest singles in both the US and the UK.

The band formed in 1969 and released their first album two years later with an astonishing ten man lineup. Throughout the 70s the band became more popular with each new album and successful single. Their first Number 1 was ‘Shining Star’ in 1975 but it wasn’t until the release of ‘September’ that the UK finally took notice. It was the first of their three biggest singles and those songs comprise this week’s EWF-filled TFIF mix.

01. September
02. Boogie Wonderland
03. Let’s Groove

Do you remember dancing in September when there never was a cloudy day?..

Thank Funk It’s Friday – 2010.09.03

It’s been a long week, so here is a short mix…

01. Stroke ’75 – Tower Of Power
02. Das Stundenhotel Von St. Pauli – Erwin Halletz
03. Burn Biscuits – Triumphs