The Gig That I Did Go To

Massive Attack hit the Olympia last night to promote their new EP ‘Splitting The Atom’.  They were absolutely brilliant – a stunning light show, top-notch musicianship and a host of guest collaboraters including, Horace Andy, Shara Nelson and Martina Topley-Bird.

They have been writing and rehearsing since the end of 2008 in the hopes of finishing  what was dubbed ‘LP 5’ but the album has not yet surfaced.  Recently, the date February 8, 2010 was confirmed as the release date of the now-named ‘Heligoland’.

Rumor has it that Horace and Martina will be guest vocalists on some of the tracks and that Damon Albarn, Guy Garvey (Elbow) and Hope Sandoval (Mazzy Star) will also appear on the album.  If it is anywhere near as good as some of the tracks sounded live then it will be one of the biggest releases of next year.

The setlist (to the best of my recollection) was:

01. Flat Of The Blade
02. Hartcliffe Star
03. Babel
04. Girl I Love You
05. Future Proof
06. Risingson
07. Angel
08. Inertia Creeps
09. Teardrop
10. Mezzanine
11. Safe From Harm
12. Unfinished Sympathy

13. Splitting The Atom
14. Atlas Air
15. Karmacoma

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s